Michael McDonald – Wide open
Release: 15-09-2017
Label: Universal/BMG records

Who would doubt that Michael McDonald could still sound groovy and relevant while ushering the musical feel of 1978 into 2017 ? Only a fool !!
Within seconds of the opening “oohs” and warm, groovy vibes of McDonald’s new song “Find It In Your Heart,” your heart will be overjoyed.
The opening notes call up immediate memories of some of his much-beloved Doobie Brothers classics, like “What A Fool Believes” and “Takin’ It To The Streets,”
as well as some of of his incredible harmony singing with Steely Dan on “Peg” and “Bad Sneakers” !

“Wide Open” — his first new studio album since 2008 — sees McDonald putting away the R&B songbook, eschewing the covers of his last few records in favor of all-new, original material.
The album includes a who’s who of excellent players, including bassists Willie Weeks and Marcus Miller, guitarists Warren Haynes and Robben Ford,
saxophonist Branford Marsalis and keyboardist David Paich.
“Wide Open” may very well be the album that makes the kids call their folks and say, “Hey, have you heard of this new artist, Michael McDonald ” ?

Watch the video for the song “Half truth” here !


1. Hail Mary
2. Just Strong Enough
3. Find It In Your Heart
4. Half Truth
5. Ain’t No Good
6. Honest Emotion
7. Blessing in Disguise
8. Dark Side
9. If You Wanted to Hurt Me
10. Beautiful Child
11. Too Short
12. Free a Man

Facebook page.